doing, not feeling

10 Jan

I’ve been asked a lot lately how I’m feeling with a smidgen more than three weeks til we fly. Mostly I say that I’m feeling “very excited”. Except, I’m not feeling excited at all. Nor am I feeling apprehensive, or scared, or stressed, or happy, or sad.

It’s not that I don’t think that this time is exciting. Flip: I cannot imagine many times that are more exciting that I’ve experienced to date and I’m sure that I will look on this season as one of the most exhilarating of our lives. Mostly, though, it feels like I don’t have space to feel for all the doing that has been done.

To give you an idea, last week I (either with Stof or by myself) ticked the following off the to-do list:

  • pay boat yard
  • order kayak
  • set up excel sheet for boat expenses
  • distribute hard drives for movies on the boat
  • find (provisional) buyer for my car
  • follow up with work on boat in Mexico
  • close outstanding work accounts
  • set up sailing e-mail account
  • get day skippers ticket information in order (fill in log book, have eyes tested, passport photographs taken, collect certificate from sailing school, etc)
  • register radio licence
  • register epirb (not entirely successful)
  • investigate travel insurance
  • set up appointment for last health check-up
  • order waterproof casing for camera
  • book first aid at sea course
  • find spanish tutor
  • order specific toiletries
  • sail another 100 miles for stof’s skipper’s ticket qualification
  • AND we spent a bunch of time with friends and family…

Whew.

I am so looking forward to my first bloody mary on the plane to Dubai, when I can sit back, put away my note book of things to do and just feel (excited, sad, apprehensive, relieved…).

Chat again when I’ve checked the next 20 items off the Must Do list!

7 Responses to “doing, not feeling”

  1. Meghan 10 January 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    I think that you are right, once everything is set into motion you will be able to do the feeling portion. And have a bloody mary for me. And DUBAI, so exciting.

    • stofnsara 10 January 2011 at 11:45 pm #

      Thank you darlin. I need little more encouragement to have another bloody mary. Love you the most. (And Jo, of course.)

  2. Kelsey 11 January 2011 at 1:27 am #

    This is so awesome 🙂 I’m feeling VERY excited for you!! Fair winds and following seas!!

  3. mukuba2002 11 January 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    good luck with your upcoming journey

  4. Jo 12 January 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    Hahaha! YES! I get a mention! 😉

    You are exactly where you should be–the doing is the insanity! C kept asking me: “aren’t you excited? We get our house in a month/a week/two days!” And I would say yes and he would know I was intellectually excited but not feeling it.

    You’ll feel it. Just triple up on those bloody marys, because those feelings will tromp you! 🙂

    You have been ROCKING it, too! I want to get my passport now so I can come meet up with you somewhere, and once again I wish that Ohio was next to the ocean!

    (PS hard drives for movies on the boat? BRILLIANT!)

    • stofnsara 12 January 2011 at 6:19 pm #

      Get that passport, sausage. 🙂

  5. dizzy* 21 January 2011 at 11:52 am #

    i’m stealing some work time and catching up on blogs – wish you all the best for the last round of to-dos. can’t wait to see pics, and read tales of you sailing the seas…

Leave a Reply

