never say no to water… and bubbles

14 Dec

[Before writing this it seemed like there would be a point, but it’s turned out to be a bit of a rambling collection of thoughts about nothing very substantial. Sorry.]

A little while ago Stoffel decided that it would be an excellent life-rule to set oneself the mantra: “Never say no to water.”

What a good rule it is!* Now, whenever either of us is offered a sip/glass/bottle of water we are ethically bound** to accept. We like to catch each other out:

Stoffel: Would you like a glass of water, my love?

Saartjie: [favourite glass water bottle in hand] Um, No I’m ok with my 750ml of H2O right here…

St: Did you just say NO to water?

Sa: Errrrrrmmmmmmmmm. No… I’d love a glass of water.

We’re very mature like that. And (clearly) well hydrated.

While we’re on the topic of refusing to refuse liquids, another beverage I am yet to turn down is a sip/glass/bottle of champagne.***As long as it’s not sweet and has bubbles, I love it the most!

Which reminds me of the most marvellous evening we enjoyed two nights before I went to Antarctica (i.e. when I still had absolutely no idea that I might actually be going to Antarctica). The Hillratts were invited to a Champagne Tasting! The tasting was held in a breath-taking manor along the Bishopscourt ridge overlooking Constantia and all of False Bay. For those not acquainted with the Fairest Cape (we’re quite modest about our city) this vista includes scenes of great beauty. After the “tasting” part of the Champagne Tasting there were bottles and bottles of Bolly to be drunk freely while we snacked on oysters! sushi! salmon! french cheeses! home-made vanilla pod ice cream! multiple other delicacies! Delicious. It was certainly a lifestyle I could become well acquainted with. Although I would most certainly morph into an enormous piece of solid lard.

Oh! On the subject of Sara’s lardiness: I have resumed some manner of exercise regime and self-discipline in the eating department due to the scary rate of increase of lard-to-muscle ratio in my body. I have even run**** three kilometres for two days in a row. And counting. Nice one, Saartjie!***** Just thinking about it makes me feel thirsty. I think I’ll have some more water, please.

Would you like some too?

* Have I mentioned that I love a good rule? Something to do with being a Type-A bossy-britches, perhaps… Or too many years working with rules.

** I am an ABSOLUTE rule-nerd…

*** Or cap classique. Which is what they call a bottle of bubbles made in SA because those frenchies insisted we call it something else and they are fussy like that.

**** I use the word “run” very loosely: sometimes I just walk along puffing heavily in between actual spurts of jogging.

***** I even felt inspired to add a category entitled “fitness” whch might just be wishful thinking…

10 Responses to “never say no to water… and bubbles”

  1. Meghan 14 December 2010 at 5:30 pm #

    I need a running rule. And come to think of it a water rule. I happen to also be a type A bossy britches with a bit of a lard problem and a lack of a huffy running program. (I did go two days this weekend but that is not a program.)

    • stofnsara 14 December 2010 at 6:05 pm #

      Ah-ha! How about a running challenge?!???! Between 14 December and 14 January (which is quite a good day for me because it is the day before our farewell party) shall we compete to see who participates in the most “runs”? The lesser runner shall purchase and mail Something Awesome (we can discuss exactly what) to the greater runner. Except you can mail it to me in Mexico, because that is where I will be from February!

  2. Jo 14 December 2010 at 6:14 pm #

    I love this post! You kill me, Sara!

    I think it’s time to go establish a water-rule. 🙂 And maybe some other ones too…;)

    May I join the challenge too? I just ran! Count that as one.

    • stofnsara 14 December 2010 at 6:53 pm #

      Yes! Brilliant! As long as you promise that you are not already a good runner 😉 Marvellous…

    • stofnsara 14 December 2010 at 9:01 pm #

      I’ve just had dinner (which always gives me some perspective). Even if you ARE a fantastic runner you should join in , because keeping momentum going through December and the new year is hard for EVERYONE. It’s not about distance, so much as discipline…

  3. Meghan 15 December 2010 at 12:08 am #

    OK!!!! I am super nervous too! Maybe I will mail myself to Mexico in February… I AM pretty awesome.

    • stofnsara 19 December 2010 at 10:12 pm #

      Hi its stof, you are most welcome to mail yourself to the boat but as crew you will be forced into labour. Provisioning is an arduous task!

  4. dizzy* 15 December 2010 at 11:58 am #

    hehee a no-to-no-water rule! i used to live by a no-to-no-wine rule myself, until my partner and i decided to embark on a “Detox December”. it felt like a good idea at the time *groan* not the ideal month to embrace sobreity, but now here we are. i think we’re both just so stubborn that neither of us could live with ourselves if we’re the first one to break the pact, so we’re sticking to it! it’s going well so far, but there’s all these year-end work functions, and wine festivals, and picnics to endure *sigh*

    goodluck on the running though! a few of us have decided to do the 2oceans half marathon next year, and training starts with the 10km sunset run on sea point promenade next week. at the rate you’re going 10kms will be a breeze for you, but baby steps for me :p

    • stofnsara 20 December 2010 at 12:58 pm #

      Detox december sucks!!! We’ve done “no-tox november” a couple of times… much better timing 😉 Enjoy the training. I reckon if I were here I might have set 2 oceans as a goal.

  5. mukuba2002 16 December 2010 at 3:16 pm #

    i love your water rule, its sounds like fun

Leave a Reply

