why stof needs a wife… or a p.a.

15 Nov

Last week, I received a phone call.

*ring-ring* *ring-ring*

[Except, it’s my cell phone and plays The Entertainer when it rings, but I couldn’t properly illustrate that above.]

Saartjie: Hi, it’s Sara speaking.

Rather Irate* Lady: Can I speak to [Stof].

S: Um, I can give you his number. What is it in connection with?

RIL: I’m calling from ICASA.** Why did he do his radio licence exam again?

S: Oh! Because he failed it the first time…

RIL: No. We issued him with a licence in 2000.

Yup. turns out that Stoffel did his radio licence in 2000.*** He has absolutely no recollection of this event. None. In fact, doing the exam twice in 2010 did not even jog his memory.

Sometimes, I wonder what his life would be like without me… He’d definitely lose a lot more stuff and end up repeating things a whole lot more.

* In retrospect, it made me laugh that the lady was so irate. Did she think Stof did the exam twice (three times, if you count the one he did earlier this year that he didn’t pass) on purpose??? It was almost as if she felt that he had gone through the effort just to give her more admin and make her day harder.

** ICASA is the independent communications authority of south africa. They’re the people who administer the  radio licences.

***We met in December of 2003.

8 Responses to “why stof needs a wife… or a p.a.”

  1. Jo 15 November 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    LMAO. That is hilarious and amazing. I guess I have to say…at least he’s overprepared?

    • stofnsara 15 November 2010 at 4:07 pm #

      I’d also think that, except he FAILED the test he did earlier this year… hilarious. Luckily, as the “down below” (as in below the decks, not… you know!) skipper, I will be in charge of the radio!

      • Jo 16 November 2010 at 3:26 pm #

        “down below” skipper. I want a t-shirt that says THAT.

  2. Caitlin 15 November 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    this made me laugh.

    ps. my sis and her first mate are LOVING the trip so far– it sounds like a dream. she emailed me and said they want to just hang out in the sea of cortez forever, instead of moving on! so who knows… maybe you will see them there 😉

  3. Meghan 15 November 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    Hilarious. I have a similar husband. Some are organized and some are handsome (kidding). Organization and memory are NOT Eric’s strong suits.

    • stofnsara 16 November 2010 at 11:25 am #

      Grin! Grin! Grin! Stof now wants to get a T-shirt made that reads

      “Husbands: some are organised; some are handsome”

      Genius.

  4. CandidKar 23 November 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    Ha ha ha ha hahaa ha ha haaa! ha ha! ha ha ha ha haaaa!

Leave a Reply

