b[l]erry miraculous

3 Nov

This past weekend we did some really awesome-fun stuff. We went away with some superb people.* As if just going away with the perfect posse wasn’t enough, we also did other rad things like riding bicycles,** going for jogs, eating and drinking,  swimming in the river and playing putt-putt when we were supposed to be watching rugby. We also went for a small hike along the cliffs where I dropped my blackberry in a rock pool. A rock pool with sea water.

Salt = bad for a ‘berry. Water = bad for phones. Salt + water + phone = ofcourseit’sbroken. While we did rinse it almost immediately with fresh water (and had nothing to drink for the rest of the small hike), and dried it out in the sunlight and breeze, I was not in the least bit surprised when it did not switch on on Sunday night. Or Monday night…

But yesterday evening when I finally got my act together to borrow a phone and needed to recover the sim card, I discovered that my phone had mysteriously and miraculously switched itself back on!

So impressed.

*In 1998 I went on exchange to Brasil. I learnt to speak Portuguese pretty flippen well (I’m modest like that). I still tell people I speak Portuguese. But sometimes I remember words that I’m sure can’t be right. Like the slang for “superb people” (or superb person, for that matter) was/is “sangue bon”. Good blood?! Can it really be so?

** Not me. I’m not so good with bicycles. Embarrassing, I know.

5 Responses to “b[l]erry miraculous”

  1. Sid 3 November 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    Ha. This year I had a similar incident with my iPod. Only difference is that it spent a large amount of time in the washing machine and some how it still survived.

  2. stofnsara 3 November 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    Stories like these revive my faith in technology.

  3. Meghan 3 November 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    Husband finally had to get some sort of military grade cell phone due to the many washing machine trips.

  4. Julia 8 November 2010 at 11:56 pm #

    Oi Sarah! I am so excited about your adventure. No need to be modest about your Portuguese, it is amazing how well you can still speak it.

    And yes… Sangue Bom is right… but I guess that people don’t use it anymore as much. I also have been away for so long that I find myself using expressions that are no longer used back home 🙂

    • stofnsara 9 November 2010 at 11:04 am #

      Querida! You are too lovely. Beijao

Leave a Reply

