three month countdown

1 Nov

THREE MONTHS ‘TIL WE FLY!*

Wow.

The measurement of time forwards is such a tricky beast. How will those three months rush by? I just cannot imagine that they will drag. What will three months from now feel like?

In order to measure time forwards, I’ve developed the habit of casting my mind back to the equivalent time in the past.

By 1 August we had moved out of our lovely home. Scissor and I were completing our open water dive course and high-tailing back to Durbs to catch our flight with happy faces and pressurised ears (that only became worse on the flight). People, there’s a reason why they advise you not to fly on the same day you dive. Or dive with a cold. In retrospect, though, that diving was the best thing for my months-old cold and it quickly dissipated on returning home…

On 1 August, Stoffel was in Southampton, getting ready (with his team) to sail so jolly brilliantly that his team won their J109 regatta in the esteemed Cowes Week.

Already, it is now! 1 November 2010 will be remembered as a Very Important Day: today I resigned from the Bar and gave notice on my chambers and parking. One more month as an advocate. One more month of work. [One month ago we had just celebrated our anniversary…]

Between now and 1 February 2010, there is so much to do. I must complete sailing, first aid, spanish and french courses. We will celebrate ten family birthdays (including Cowboy’s! (and mine)), two friends’ weddings (two weddings, four friends), Christmas and New Year. The to-do list grows everyday.

But I have a growing tingle in the pit of my tummy. It grows at at least the same rate as the to-do list. It’s the tingle of excitement and wonder at the audaciously awesome nature of the life we are living.

*As abundantly clearly as I think I write, I am aware that there are times when all is not as clear in my mind as it is in yours. We need to fly to La Paz in Mexico on 1 Feb 2011 to meet up with the Laura Takalani and then we will work very hard getting her ready and then we will leave to sail across the Pacific.

5 Responses to “three month countdown”

  1. ali la loca 2 November 2010 at 7:01 am #

    Wow, sounds like exciting things are in store. I’m new here, so obviously don’t have all the context, but I will be back to read some archives and learn a bit more. I know I’ll enjoy reading because of the Southern Africa connection, for starters.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  2. mukuba2002 2 November 2010 at 8:44 am #

    you have a lot to do in the next three months

  3. stofnsara 2 November 2010 at 9:05 am #

    It’s going to be an exciting, but ridiculously crazy three months. Bring it…

  4. Meghan 3 November 2010 at 12:57 am #

    I am so incredibly excited for you. What an amzing adventure. And Cowboy is too cute.

  5. Brazen 3 November 2010 at 10:45 am #

    That all sounds SO exciting…your life sounds awesome right now. I really want to go to Mexico….you are so lucky. At least I can console myself by goign to see Imogen Heap (and hopefully stalking her for an autograph) at Paul Cluver wine estate in Feb. (so excited)

    Have a rad week x

Leave a Reply

