albino squirrels… and a cool gadget

21 Oct

Inexplicably, my car broke down yesterday. Rather, it refused to start working again after I ran into the Matchbox to collect the groceries that we would use to cook Stoffie’s birthday dinner with his family. I (fairly quickly) established that it wasn’t going to fire up without some kind of professional external intervention. So I called Stoffel for a lift and decided to deal with it in the morning.

It was a wise decision: This morning as I waited for the tow-truck to arrive I saw an albino squirrel!!! Although, Google tells me it might have just been a white one instead of an actual albino one. According to the interwebs, you have to look at their eyes to establish whether it merely has white fur or actually doesn’t have any pigment. I was (a) not close enough to see its eyes; (b) too amazed to move closer to look at its eyes; (c) reluctant to move closer in case it scampered away; and (d) ignorant that there was a distinction between white squirrels and actual albino squirrels anyway.

A snow-white squirrel! Surely this is good luck? I must purchase a lottery ticket. Or something. Pity I’m not in court today…*

That’s about all I have for you today. Oh! I lie:

Stof received a winner birthday present from his sisters: A Twist coffee-maker.

Perfect for making awesome cups of coffee on the big wide ocean. It requires no power! Delicious coffee! Basically, they’re a whole lot of marvellous.

* I am strangely superstitious about court appearances. I have two/three pairs of panties I consider “lucky”. (There is no particular reason for this.) I must wear one of my lucky panties every time I appear in court. Often I specially handwash to ensure I don’t run out of lucky panties if I have a lot of appearances in one week.

7 Responses to “albino squirrels… and a cool gadget”

  1. Sid 21 October 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    Dude … Are you a lawyer or do you get arrested quite often?

    And you reminded me of Trevor. According to his show, “Daywalker” his friends assumed he was an albino. Little did they know that he was actually coloured. You should watch the video. He says it sooo much better than I.

  2. stofnsara 21 October 2010 at 4:30 pm #

    A lawyer. The type who apears in court. Multiple arrests would be so much cooler, though!

    I’ve lost the stomach for TN since the cellC rubbish. But I’ll check it out on your recommendation.

  3. meghan 22 October 2010 at 3:54 am #

    My mom grew up in olney, illinois, home of the white squirrel. They were everywhere. And I believe in the power of the lucky panties.

    And I want to hear more about the adventure.

    • stofnsara 22 October 2010 at 9:45 am #

      Olney, Home of the White Squirrel! How fantastic! That little guy outside our Matchbox was an awefully long way from home!

      More on the adventure to come. I promise.

  4. Camels & Chocolate 22 October 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    That’s hysterical as I wrote this guidebook in the spring, Tennessee Curiosities, about weird things from my home state, and one of the things I discovered is that there’s a town in East TN with the highest population of albino squirrels! I’d never even heard of such a thing! Jealous you actually saw one 😉

    • stofnsara 25 October 2010 at 9:59 am #

      I know! I didn’t even know they existed until it scampered across the road and sat sunnning himself (herself?) on a rock for a minute. Albino (white?) squirrels are high on the awesome scale.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. thank-you, matchbox « Stofnsara's Blog - 28 October 2010

    […] and loads of sunlight in the afternoon. Thank you for being so close to a place where an actual albino squirrel lives.* I also particularly appreciate how I could virtually free-wheel down the road from you to  […]

Leave a Reply

