i get it (i think)

7 Oct

Stof has often tried to explain how free and peaceful he feels in the mid-ocean.

At about 1 am on our trip to Langebaan while standing at the spreaders (erm, side things that hold the mast up) watching the stars on the black water and Bally Hoo’s phosphorescent wake, feeling the chilly air flow over my face (but feeling toasty in my oillies) I was almost slammed with a sense of serenity.

I felt small, but my heart swelled huge. We were both dancing with the waves and vulnerable. The greatness of the ocean and sky filled my chest so I felt like simultaneously weeping and laughing hysterically. And although I knew that Stof, Nix and A would have understood completely, it was enough for me to just feel.

Leave a Reply

